Forum closed. New forum available at http://community.wymeditor.org/

Editor-view stylesheet?

Support forum for WYMeditor.

Editor-view stylesheet?

Postby Slip Nine on Sat Jul 21, 2007 4:06 am

This might be interpreted as a dumb question to be answered with a link to the docs but I've been through them and tried everything I can think of. Basically, I want to set a specific value for wymeditor/iframe/default/wymiframe.css and I can't figure out how to do just that. I have no experience with Javascript in particilar, but am familiar with coding in general (if not good at it)

Things I've tried:

- Skin: 'myStyle'

Despite hopes inspired by the naming scheme under the iframe folder, the skin option only appears to affect the wymeditor/skins/default directory. Fair enough; though even in regards to the skins directory, I could only manage to break the default style, failing to make it work even there. Copying the default to 'myStyle' does not appear to work, making me think skins have to be detailed in the javascript somewhere and might yet allow me to specify a different iframe css, but I don't know enough javascript to puzzle it out. The feature appears to be completely undocumented, the only thing the docs mention are that the option exists.

- stylesheet: 'myStyle.css'

This option baffles me, to be honest. It works, but very poorly. The need to comment out the style code is extremely non-user-friendly and leads to code errors due to lack of the useful syntax highlighting features users are used to having in their programs. This would be somewhat mitigated if the parser would pick up uncommented style definitions as well, allowing commented lines only for editor-specific code (which I personally have no need for), but instead all code must be copied and commented. Still, it works, but being that there exists and is used a standalone css file for the editor appearance ( wymeditor/iframe/default/wymiframe.css ), changing that file seems to make much more sense.