Forum closed. New forum available at http://community.wymeditor.org/

WYM Editor works only in Gecko-based browsers

Discuss features, code, contributions, ideas, suggestions, ...
For bugs, patches and feature requests, please post on the Trac:
http://trac.wymeditor.org/

WYM Editor works only in Gecko-based browsers

Postby pjanderson on Sun Jul 29, 2007 2:59 pm

I understand that the editor is still in early stages of development, but your pages state that it is compatible with IE 6+ and Opera 9+, but it doesn't load at all when I browse my forms using IE or Opera.

Have you experienced that before, and is there some known piece of setting or JS code to make it work in these browsers?
pjanderson
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 2:33 pm

Postby rostr on Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:03 pm

I can confirm that the editor does work under IE and Opera.

Did you make sure to put class='wymeditor' into your textarea declarations?
rostr
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 8:21 pm

Postby pjanderson on Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:21 pm

No I haven't done this. I didn't know I had to. I must have missed it. I'll try again with that declaration.
pjanderson
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 2:33 pm

Postby pjanderson on Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:41 pm

I have added class="wymeditor" to my textarea and I still don't see the WYM Ediitor in IE7 (at the moment I can't use IE6)
pjanderson
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 2:33 pm

Postby rhino on Mon Jul 30, 2007 11:58 pm

it definitely works in IE on mac and PC, never tested it on Opera. Have you included jQuery as well as all of the WYMEditor javascript files? Have you initialized a new WYMEditor instance on document.ready anywhere?
rhino
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 6:17 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Postby pjanderson on Tue Jul 31, 2007 2:17 am

This is the part of my document HEAD:

Code: Select all
<script src="/media/js/jQuery/jquery-1.1.3.1.pack.js" type="text/javascript"></script>

<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="screen" href="/media/js/jQuery/plugins/wymeditor/skins/liquid2/screen.css" />

<script src="/media/js/jQuery/plugins/wymeditor/jquery.wymeditor.js" type="text/javascript"></script>

<script src="/media/js/wymeditor-textarea.js" type="text/javascript"></script>


And this is how I initialize the editor in above-mentioned "wymeditor-textarea.js":

Code: Select all
var $j = jQuery.noConflict();

$j(document).ready(function() {   
    $j('textarea').wymeditor({
        jQueryPath          : '/media/js/jQuery/jquery-1.1.3.1.js',
        updateSelector      : 'input:submit',
        updateEvent         : 'click',   
    });
});


Still I can't see the editor in both IE and Opera.[/code]
pjanderson
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 2:33 pm

Postby rhino on Wed Aug 01, 2007 1:11 am

this is from my WYM initialization script which is known good:

Code: Select all
// JavaScript Document
var $j = jQuery.noConflict();

$j(function() {

   $j('.wymeditor').wymeditor({
        //set your options here
      
   });
});


that should work as long as you have at least one textarea with the correct class designation like
Code: Select all
<textarea class="wymeditor" id="your_id" name="your_name"><!-- content here --></textarea>


try loading it without setting any options first and if you can get it working add in the options later

-Rhino
rhino
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 6:17 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Postby pjanderson on Wed Aug 01, 2007 1:26 pm

It worked when I removed the options and quoted textarea like this:

Code: Select all
var $j = jQuery.noConflict();

$j(document).ready(function() {   
    $j('textarea').wymeditor({
        // set your options here
    });
});


I want to apply it to all my textareas :)

I'll play with the options.
pjanderson
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 2:33 pm

Postby pjanderson on Wed Aug 01, 2007 1:47 pm

But as soon as I start adding options, I'm back to square one: no editor in IE or Opera.

Without options, it loads and is displayed in these browsers, but I can't save anything, because textarea is emptied on submit.
pjanderson
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 2:33 pm

Postby pjanderson on Wed Aug 01, 2007 2:44 pm

The culprit was a coma at the of options array :)
pjanderson
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 2:33 pm

Postby rhino on Wed Aug 01, 2007 4:40 pm

aahhh that pesky comma! (or coma, that's pretty appropriate in this situation too :) ) that stupid thing has screwed me up a couple times as well. It's annoying because in PHP you can have the comma after your last array item and it ignores it but in JS you can't or the whole thing blows up.

Glad to see you got it cleared up.

Oh, and I'm pretty sure the code I posted above would make a WYM instance for every textarea on the page with the right class on it...to me this makes more sense because you might want to have other textareas on your form that aren't WYM instances. </2 cents>
rhino
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 6:17 pm
Location: Los Angeles


Return to Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests