Forum closed. New forum available at http://community.wymeditor.org/

Some ideas from a guy not good at javascript

Discuss features, code, contributions, ideas, suggestions, ...
For bugs, patches and feature requests, please post on the Trac:
http://trac.wymeditor.org/

Some ideas from a guy not good at javascript

Postby trd on Sat Nov 20, 2010 6:41 am

I'm not really a coder, in that I'm not good enough to invent something. I just fiddle with HTML and PHP in a text editor, then ftp to my host. But I'm usually good enough to duct tape a few changes in existing code. Looking at the source for this has been overwhelming though, and I'm not sure I'm going to be able to implement my ideas. PHP is so much easier than Javascript, in my opinion.

* What I'd like to do is for each block to have a little tab, so that it could be dragged up or down. The point being, you can reorder the blocks, instead of having to delete, start over, or overwrite. This would put the identifier, like the tiny "p" on a paragraph block, on the side. Hovering over the "p" would create that special arrow cursor, letting the user know it can be dragged.
Code: Select all
-------------------------------------
| p  | lorem ipsum                   |
-----|                               |
     | blah                          |
      --------------------------------

* For things like the indent buttons, I would like them to appear only when a list block is currently active. Like, your cursor is on it or editing it. If you then move to a non-list block, those indent buttons disappear. Alternatively, get rid of the global tools altogether, and have each block have it's own toolbar.